Saturday, May 22, 2010

It Might As Well Be Swing - Ranwood Records

It Might As Well Be Swing
Various Artists Featuring Pete Fountain

It Might As Well Be Swing
Record Label: Ranwood
Originally released: 24-AUG-1999

Artist: Glenn Miller
1. Tuxedo Junction
2. Chattanooga Choo Choo
3. Pennsylvania 6-5000
4. Sun Valley Jump
5. Bugle Call Rag
6. I've Got A Gal In Kalamazoo
7. Perfidia
8. Runnin' Wild

Artist: Lawrence Welk
9. Take The "A" Train
10. One O'clock Jump
11. Christopher Columbus
12. King Porter Stomp
13. Caravan
14. That Old Black Magic
15. Organ Grinder's Swing
16. Tangerine

Artist: Pete Fountain
17. Cheek To Cheek
18. Alice Blue Gown
19. Runnin' Wild

Artist: Myron Floren
20. Pennsylvania Polka
21. The Thunder Polka
22. Jolly Polka

1 comment:

Bill Bingham said...

I need to find reference information [e.g. vinyl/CD name, label, year, etc] for a recording by, I'm told, Pete Fountain and the Dukes of Dixieland. Specifically, "Down By The Riverside." It starts with an 8-measure drum intro (about 10 seconds). There is one clarinet solo that starts about 53 seconds into the recording and runs for 16 measures. The piece also has a string bass solo towards the end. Unfortunately, that is all the information that I have. No time frame. No label. Can you help me with this or direct me to where I might find such information? I'd very much appreciate anything you might be able to tell me. Thank you in advance for your help.

I've only heard/seen Pete perform twice... first at his club in New Orleans in 1970 (if I'm counting my years correctly) and the other with Al Hirt (shortly before his passing) in Oxnard, California. Both were magical.

Meanwhile, thanks for your blog. It's monumental. I've learned a great deal about Pete through your efforts. Keep up the great work.

Bill Bingham

BTW, I don't expect you to post this to the blog. I used this as the only way I knew to ask you about the recording.